Leach already long-tenured in Pac-12

Leach already long-tenured in Pac-12

BEING A HEAD college football coach is certainly lucrative, but it's not usually a long term proposition. Take the Pac-12 for example, and how Mike Leach's two seasons at Washington State already have him in the upper half of the conference in tenure.

After only two seasons, Mike Leach is the Pac-12's fifth longest-tenured coach according to the list compiled by Syracuse.com college sports reporter Patrick Stevens.

He's also all the way up to No. 61 on the list of all FBS coaches out of 128 schools.

Only two Pac-12 coaches, Oregon State's Mike Riley and Utah's Kyle Whittingham, took the helm at their current programs before 2011.

Leach stayed 10 years at his first head coaching job, have a rollover contract with Washington State and has consistently mentioned how pleased he and his family are to be in Pullman.

As for the rest of the Pac-12, with 10 coaches taking over new programs in the last two years, we'll see.

Here's the Pac-12 coaches rundown, with the national longevity ranking included.

8. Feb. 19, 2003, Mike Riley, Oregon State
11. Dec. 9, 2004, Kyle Whittingham, Utah
55. Jan. 13, 2011, David Shaw, Stanford
59. Nov. 21, 2011, Rich Rodriguez, Arizona
61. Nov. 30, 2011, Mike Leach, Washington State
T-68. Dec. 10, 2011, Jim Mora, UCLA
T-72. Dec. 14, 2011, Todd Graham, Arizona State
T-87. Dec. 5, 2012, Sonny Dykes, California
T-92. Dec. 10, 2012, Mike MacIntyre, Colorado
107. Jan. 20, 2013, Mark Helfrich, Oregon
109. Dec. 2, 2013, Steve Sarkisian, Southern California
111. Dec. 6, 2013, Chris Petersen, Washington

  • Mark Stoops has coached 12 games at Kentucky and yet is longer-tenured than 38.3 percent of all FBS college football coaches.

  • The longest tenured coach in college football is Frank Beamer, who has been at Virginia Tech since 1986.

  • The top ten:
    1. Dec. 22, 1986: Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
    2. Dec. 3, 1990: Larry Blakeney, Troy
    3. Dec. 1, 1998: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
    4. Dec. 2, 1998: Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
    5. Nov. 30, 2000: Gary Pinkel, Missouri
    6. Dec. 8, 2000: Gary Patterson, Texas Christian
    7. Dec. 26, 2000: Mark Richt, Georgia
    8. Feb. 19, 2003: Mike Riley, Oregon State
    9. Dec. 8, 2003: George O'Leary, Central Florida
    10. Nov. 23, 2004: Steve Spurrier, South Carolina
  • Cougfan.com Recommended Stories